Skip to content

Jerky Fit for a Dog

September 14, 2011

Jerky treats are a favorite of my basset hounds, Tabasco and Dharma, and finding the snacks made in the USA with all natural ingredients and in a variety that won’t interfere with Dharma’s chicken allergy for less than $28 per pound can be a challenge. After reading about dogs suffering from kidney failure from eating chicken jerky treats from China I decided it was time to try my hand at making these favorites at home.

I purchased a food dehydrator along with a jerky gun and a range of ground jerky ingredients (pork, turkey, beef and lamb) and set out to make my first batch. I mixed each pound of meat with a 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder and a healthy sprinkle of parsley. Although large amounts of garlic can be problematic for dogs moderate servings (about 1 clove per day for a 50 lb dog) have many health benefits such as repelling fleas and acting as a natural antibiotic.

 

After each batch was mixed  it was simple to create strips and logs using the jerky gun. I then placed them on the dehydrator and dried.

  

They were an instant hit!

With a successful first batch of jerky under my belt I decided to create some other snacks for the dogs to enjoy – sweet potatoes and a range of fruit – which were devoured almost as quickly as the jerky.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 14, 2011 11:32 pm

    Great idea! Healthy AND affordable. If your dogs ever turn their noses up to new varieties, you know Kona’s address; send some our way!

Leave a comment